ASFPM foundation
Association of State Flood Plain Managers Association of State Flood Plain Managers
Thanks to our sustaining supporters.
Association of State Flood Plain Managers Association of State Flood Plain Managers
Association of State Flood Plain Managers
Bookmark and Share

Nick Winter

Nick Winter Memorial Scholarship Fund Award Competition for Undergraduate and Graduate Students

Remembering Nick Winter

Deadline: April 1, 2016

The Association of State Floodplain Managers and ASFPM Foundation will grant a $2,500 scholarship for the 2016-2017 academic year to a full-time college junior or senior currently enrolled in an undergraduate program related to floodplain/stormwater management, or a student enrolled in a graduate program in a field related to floodplain/stormwater management.

Eligible applicants include current undergraduates in a four-year college program, applicants to a graduate program or current graduate students. Applicants must be enrolled in an accredited university or college in the United States and be a citizen of the U.S. Eligible fields of discipline include civil or environmental engineering, planning, emergency management, environmental sciences or other disciplines with a demonstrable link to floodplain and stormwater management.

Applicants must complete a Scholarship Application Form. Selection preference will be given to those applicants who demonstrate a history of civic or volunteer service, as well as a financial need (i.e. full-time students responsible for their own tuition), in addition to meeting the basic qualifications. In order to be considered, the Scholarship Review Committee must receive the Scholarship Application Form and a separate reference letter by April 1, 2016.

Scholarship funds will be paid directly to the recipient’s college or university.

Nick Winter Memorial Scholarship Application

Applications and reference letters should be sent to For further questions, please contact Diane Brown at (608) 828-6324.

Past Scholarship Recipients

2014-2015 Megan Wood – University of South Carolina
2013-2014 Lynsey Johnson – Loyola University New Orleans
2012-2013 H. E. "Gene" Longenecker, III – University of Colorado at Boulder
2011-2012 Chelsea Lane-Miller – Vermont Law School
2010-2011 Steven Mee – University of Southern Mississippi
2009-2010 Colin C. Smalley – Creighton University
2008-2009 Tim Fulks – Tri-State University - Ohio
2007-2008 Aaron Wallace, CFM – Western Kentucky Univ.
2006-2007 Sam Riley Medlock, CFM – Vermont Law School
2005-2006 Margaret Weirich – Wellesley College
2004-2005 Joshua Briggs – University of New Hampshire

Association of State Flood Plain Managers
575 D'Onofrio Drive, Suite 200  |  Madison, WI 53719  |  Phone: 608-828-3000  |  Fax: 608-828-6319  |  Email Us

Security and Terms  |  Site Map  |  Mobile  |  Contact Us
Association of State Floodplain Managers ®  Copyright © . All Rights Reserved.